Yesterday in the seminar I am taking from S. Scott Bartchy on recent research on Paul of Tarsus, someone asked why people would have become Christians in the New Testament period.  Prof. Bartchy asked me to reply from my experiences in Africa.  I have a paper called “The Church vs. the Spirit” that presents some interviews on how Christianity improves the welfare of women in SSA.  I also mentioned that in such a strongly hierarchical society, the Biblbical teachings that hierarchy is not legitimate is an enormous relief to men.

I just came across another point in Dana Robert (ed) Gospel Bearers, Gender Barriers.  In Vietnam, the gospel liberates people from fears of punishments by the local gods/evil spirits for violating taboos. 

Anyone out there with other information about how the Gospel makes life better?

 

